Deletions - Configuration Settings

User Permissions

New User Permissions have been added to allow you to control who can:

  • Delete an Individual record
  • Batch Delete records
  • Manage Deletion requests
  • Receive email notification for Bulk Deletions.

These permissions are set in Admin/Manage Users and will be off for all users, by default.

Deletion Rules

We have introduced 3 rules which can be applied to prevent you from accidentally batch deleting records that you may not wish to delete, in order to comply with legal and regulatory requirements. These are explained below.

HMRC

HMRC requires accounting records be retained for 6 years from the end of the Financial Year. 

You will be able to turn the HMRC Rule off from Admin/System Configuration/System Settings/Person Deletion Settings. When the rule is turned on you will be able to set the retention period to 6 or 7 years. 

The default setting is 7 years to take account of varying financial year end dates. The rule will be checked for individual and batch deletions and will prevent the deletion of a person's records where there are accounts entries of less than the number of years set by you.

Anti Money Laundering

Anti Money Laundering regulations require Estate Agents to carry out identity checks when they establish a business relationship with a client. These checks must be retained for 5 years from the date that the business relationship has come to an end.

The AML Rule can also be turned off from Admin/System Configuration/System Settings/Person Deletion Settings. 

When turned on the rule will be checked for individual and batch deletions and this will prevent the deletion of a person's records where there has been a business relationship within the last 5 years.

A business relationship starts with an Owner when an Appraisal is won and with an Applicant when an Offer or Application is made.

The business relationship ends with a Vendor or Applicant when the Offer has been Withdrawn/Declined or the Sale is Completed or Fallen Through. It ends with a Landlord or Applicant when the Application has been Withdrawn/Offer Declined/References Unsuccessful, or the Tenancy has Finished or after the last Ledger entry, whichever is the later.

The Property Ombudsman Service

The Property Ombudsman Service requires its members to keep clear and full written records of all transactions for a period of 6 years and produce them when required by the Ombudsman.

The TPOS Rule is also turned off from Admin/System Configuration/System Settings/Person Deletion Settings. When turned on the rule will be checked for individual and batch deletions and this will prevent the deletion of a person's records where there has been any transactions within the last 6 years.

In Jupix if any of the following applies within the last 6 years the record falls under the TPOS rule and will not be deleted.

  • For any Contact, Owner or Applicant record, if there are any entries in the Notes tab.

  • For a Potential Owner, once an Appraisal has been booked.

  • For an Applicant,

    • any Property Matches recorded.

    • any viewings booked, without a match

    • any offer or application received, without a viewing.

  • For a Supplier

    • A works order has been linked to the Supplier.

    • An Invoice has been added to their Ledger.

    • If a Solicitor, they have been linked to Vendor or Applicant record.

The above rules will be turned on by default,  if they are turned off you will see an advisory message of the effect of this and potential consequences.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful